Word Theft by Ruth Graham

Word Theft by Ruth Graham.

T.S. Eliot, who relied on other sources for much of
The Waste Land” (plagiarism or allusion?), famously wrote,
“Immature poets imitate; mature poets steal.”
Less often quoted is the next line,
“Bad poets deface what they take.” 

 

Ruth Graham talks about 2013 as being “the year of the plagiarists.” Who would do that?

The timing of this article was crazy. I had just read a book of haiku to my kids, and was flabbergasted to see something almost word for word exactly like one of my own poems! I’ve never read this poet’s work before, and I’m quite certain (I HOPE) he’s never read mine, as it remains in my nightstand, unpublished.

The article doesn’t address the possibility of two poets being on the same wavelength to that degree, but apparently it is possible… if not a little creepy.

One thought on “Word Theft by Ruth Graham”

Leave a Reply

