I’ll have what she’s having

Now Scott stood in the center of the room, hands raised, and announced,
“Ladies, gentlemen, welcome to Miss Zelda Sayre’s eighteenth birthday fête!
I’m Scott Fitzgerald, your host and Miss Sayre’s most ardent admirer.”

My friends cheered, and then Scott went on,
“Jasper, our bartender, has created a drink in Zelda’s honor.
I described her to him, and this gin-and-soda-and-apricots concoction is the result.
You’ve got to try it, it’s outrageously good.”

IMG_4202

Ever since reading Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald, I’ve wanted to taste this drink. But the search for the recipe has been outrageously fruitless. I did find this:

Gin Fitzgerald
1 1/2 oz gin
1 oz simple syrup
3/4 oz fresh lemon juice
2 dashes Angostura® bitters

Some say shake it all with ice and serve it in an old-fashioned glass. Others prefer to build it right in the glass, full of ice, and splash a bit of soda on top before adding the bitters.

Sounds good, but not outrageously so. I’d like what Zelda’s having, wouldn’t you?

I set about concocting my own version. Now I’m no Jasper the Bartender, but here’s what I’ve come up with so far, with ingredients we had on hand, and it’s not outrageously bad! I call it the

Zelda Fizzgerald

40 mL gin
20 mL triple sec
40 mL lemon-lime soda
40 mL apricot nectar

 

Punk says it’s crisp. I think it tastes soft, if that’s possible, but we’ll leave my synesthesia for another post.

Jasper, if you’re out there, I’ll be your most ardent admirer if you share the secret recipe!

3 thoughts on “I’ll have what she’s having”

    1. Triple sec is like sugar syrup, gin is like…juniper (?), a bit earthy/spicy. You’re not missing out at all! The book’s definitely better than the fizz… I have a review of it around here somewhere. I liked Z better than The Paris Wife, or I should say I liked Zelda better than Hadley. Happy reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

