Dear Depression

 

Dear Depression,

 

It is with great difficulty I must ask you to leave. You have been my constant companion through so many of life’s trials. Remember when I was five and that man with the beard offered me Oreos and coffee? After, you were the one who came to keep me and my shame company. I’ll never forget that.

 

You were the first on the scene after every break-up, every failed test, every lost pet, every long winter. Truth is, I don’t know what I would have done without you. But sometimes I used you as a crutch when I should have braved consequences, stood tall, held onto my dignity and moved past the pain.

 

It’s time I made my way in this world without you. I have an opportunity to enjoy the next phase of my life, and I don’t want to depend on you to hold my hand anymore. I admit, I’m scared. But I have a chance to grow, to be happy, and I hope you’ll understand why I have to go for it.

hope

I haven’t wanted to talk to you about my new friend, Hope. I don’t want to hurt you. Suffice it to say I think she’s wonderful. She makes me glad I opened my eyes this morning, and that’s something you and I never shared.

 

If I know you, you’ll hang around for a bit longer, just to see if I’m serious, to see if I’ll change my mind. I understand how hard it is for you to let go– it’s hard for me, too. But I also know you have a lot of friends– Loneliness, Drunkenness, Self-pity, Fatigue, Fear– and you guys will all be fine without me.

 

Hope has friends, too– Happiness, Contentment, Laughter, Energy. They seem pretty cool, and I look forward to getting to know them. Please don’t interfere. I’d prefer you not lurk in the shadows while I try to make friends with them.

 

I’m sure our paths will cross again, but I don’t want that to happen for a long while. Please give me some space. You were there for me, and I’ll never forget you, but I’ve changed.

Hope says when we meet again, it will be fleeting. I want her to be right. Don’t try to drag up our past. We had a good run, but it’s over.

 

Give my regards to Sadness,
Mame

 

Daily prompt: Shape Up or Ship Out

 

5 thoughts on “Dear Depression”

Leave a Reply

