Inferno

Inferno

Inferno
by Dan Brown

The short version:
Robert Langdon embarks on yet another impromptu world tour, this time visiting Florence, Venice and Istanbul in one whirlwind day, taking on the forces of overpopulation, genetically engineered pathogens and his old standby claustrophobia along the way.

The darkest places in hell are reserved for those who maintain their neutrality in times of moral crisis.
—Dante Alighieri

I like thrillers. I like history, symbology, art. I love Europe. I should like this book.

I do not like this book.

While not technically a time of moral crisis, I refuse to risk earning my spot in the darkest places in hell by maintaining neutrality here. Dan Brown’s quirks drive me INSANE.

First off, he’s condescending. He seems to smirk as he writes, and the smug stylings of the pedantic windbag wear thin pretty quickly. Especially when I’ve figured something out long before he drapes his Harris tweed clad arm around my shoulder to offer the patronizing explanation.

Being a brilliant Harvard professor is great. Flaunting it is not.

Learning new stuff about old stuff is the main reason to read this guy— he researches for years, and the resulting novels are jam-packed with all kinds of crap you never knew you didn’t know. It’s kind of awe-inspiring. But he overdoes it.

Nobody has that many facts, figures, names and dates in mind, especially not a guy caught off guard who has supposedly been shot in the head and is suffering from the resulting amnesia. And nobody runs (runs, mind you– with a head wound) into that many knowledgeable people along the way to saving the world, all entering the scene at just the right moment with the exact tidbit of data needed to solve the next clue. Heck, even the water taxi driver was a fountain of helpful information.

Deus ex machina, anyone?

This is a multi-page post in response to Weekly Writing Challenge: Clicking Through the Pages. The page numbers are ↓ down there ↓

3 thoughts on “Inferno”

  1. I had never thought about it before you said it… but it does seem like he writes with a smirk. I have to read this book because I, as you said, “like learning new stuff about old stuff.” But now I will definitely be reading it in a different light than I expected!

    Like

    1. The historical anecdotes along the way ARE fun, if you don’t mind learning from a condescending teacher who thinks you’re the village idiot =*)
      I hope you enjoy it. Maybe you’ll enjoy a smirk of your own as you read!

      Like

Leave a Reply

